Snobby Joes

Tonight’s dinner came courtesy of The Fitnessista, who had an a totally yummy sounding recipe posted today that I knew I needed in my life: Snobby Joes!

I seriously love the play on the name!  Not sure why they’re snobby though – I find them to be perfectly well-mannered, and not to mention, delicious. 😉  This was actually my first experience with lentils, so I wasn’t really sure what to expect, but I was pleasantly surprised.

They were super easy to make, and inexpensive too, which is always a PLUS in my book!

Saute up some peppers, onion, & garlic

Add in your cooked lentils,chili powder, oregano, & salt

Then add in your tomato sauce + tomato paste and let everyone get acquainted. 🙂

After about 10 minutes, add in some maple syrup & yellow mustard…

…and you’ve got yourself some Snobby Joes! 🙂

(You can click here to see the full recipe – I reduced the amount of chili powder to about 1.5 tbsp because I’m a total wimp when it comes to anything remotely spicy)

Served along with some steamed green beans, yellow beans, & baby carrots (with a little fresh gahhlic.) 😉

Unfortunately, I couldn’t quite convince the hubby to join me with this meal.  He gets pretty freaked out by beans, so he decided to pass.  I told him that I was going to force him to at least try a bite, which he hesitantly obliged — after some silly & disgusted faces, the final comment was, “It has really good flavor…but I still hate beans”

Oh well…. 😳  Maybe next time I’ll have to try to make some for him with some beef!

We were also trying to figure out if the lentils were cooked long enough?  Like I said, I’ve never cooked lentils before, so I have no idea what the texture is supposed to be like?  These were still fairly firm…so for my lentil-eating readers: What should I expect from cooked lentils??

The hubby and I are off to a bonfire in a few minutes to celebrate our friend Erika’s birthday!  I’m secretly hoping that they have some s’mores!!! 😯 😉

Question of the Night:

What’s your favorite bonfire snack/treat?

10 Responses

  1. Since when do you like lima beans?

  2. I adore s’mores! I hope you get to have some tonight! If so, eat an extra one for me! 🙂

  3. OMG – S’more and I are very close friends. As in, I can devour, oh, 5 at a time. Haha. I hope you get them too! I love the Snobby Joe idea. I actually have half a bag of lentils that need to be used up and this is perfect!!!!

  4. Oh that looks delish. I haven’t had any sort of sloppy joe as a vegetarian (17 years). I like a little firmness to my lentils unless I am cooking them down for lentil burgers.

  5. These look soo yummy!!!

  6. Smores…is there even another option?

    Your snobby joes look a LOT like Angela’s..great job!

  7. I also love snobby joes- but s’mores are by far the best fire side snack!

  8. I like what I call “banana pockets”. its just banana, peanut butter, chocolate and marshmallow wrapped in foil and tossed over hot coals or fire.
    Love those sloppy joes! I put maple syrup on eggs! i know im weird,

  9. […] I tried a new recipe for dinner, Snobby Joes. […]

Leave a comment