Quesadillas and Some Baking

You guys are awesome, really.

I totally KNEW I could count on all of you to agree with me on my debate!!! :mrgreen:

Some of you even caught on to my *clue*:

“I debated on another overly delicious oatmeal bowl, but was feeling too lazy…” (Nice catch, Gabby!) 😉

Jay swears he’s still right, but I now have tons of proof that I am, in fact, the winner of this debate.  He’s now blaming it on the fact that he’s left handed…so maybe you were onto something, Nancy!?! 🙂

Dinner tonight was an A+ for quickness and deliciousness.

Chicken & Veggie Quesadillas

Please forgive the horrendous looking plate – I had to move the little buggers around a bit for the camera and they were bein’ a little sloppy. 😉

My quesadilla started with a LaTortilla Factory whole wheat tortilla, which I stuffed with some diced red & green peppers, red onion, tomatoes, spinach, grilled chicken, & a mexican 4-cheese blend.

I kept the cooking method simple: heat up the stovetop, toss the tortilla into a large skillet pan, cover the entire tortilla with cheese, and 1/2 with your fillings.  After about 5 minutes, fold it over, and cook until nice and toasty on both sides.

Along with our quesadillas, I cooked up some corn on the cob.  I wanted to cook it on the grill, but the weather was a little icky, and I didn’t feel like waiting.  Oh well, next time!

After dinner, I was really in the mood for some baking, so I scrounged around the kitchen to see what I had.  A friend of mine was telling me the other day about a kind of cookie bar that she had just tried with granola in it.  Well, wouldntcha know – I have had almost a full box of granola, which resulted in some delicious Granola Blondies!

Granola Blondies


Ingredients:

1 egg

1 egg white

1-1/4 cup packed brown sugar

1/4 cup canola oil

1 cup all-purpose flour

1 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp salt

2 cups reduced-fat granola with raisins

1 cup dried cranberries

Directions:

Combine egg, egg white, brown sugar and oil; mix well.  Combine the flour, baking powder and salt; stir into the wet ingredients just until blended.  Stir in granola & dried cranberries (batter will be thick).

Spread into a 9-in. square baking pan coated with nonstick cooking spray.  Bake at 350 degrees for 25-30 minutes, or until golden brown.  Cool & cut into bars.  ENJOY! 😛

Now if you’ll please excuse me, I have to go finish eating the piece I just cut for myself. 😉

Have a good night!!

17 Responses

  1. That’s hilarious! For some reason I totally thought YOU were the lefty, which is why this topic came up in the first place. I also thought your hint was the bowl on top of the grocery list. But of course the real hint was definitely a catcher, I didn’t get 🙂

  2. omg those blondies look sooooooo good!

  3. Those look delicious! I have been REALLY wanting blondies lately… and when I saw them on your blog I got excited! This recipe looks really tasty… I think I might have to try it… just gotta get some granola… I’m out!

  4. those granola blondies look delicious! do you know how many calories are in a bar??

    • I estimated around 195 if you cut them into 16 bars. But there’s room to play with the ingredients if you want to try to make it less — you just not might end up with as good of a texture?

      • ooh ok..i wonder if you could substitute the granola with oatmeal to get a more oatier bar? i might have to play around with that recipe! 😀

      • Yeah definitely! You might even be able to try some applesauce in place of the canola oil?

  5. they’re a really good idea! your blondies sounds pretty simple too! x

  6. I’ve never had a blondie….those look sooooo good. Love quesadillas.

  7. Wow those granola blondies look sooo good! They would be really good with white choc. chips too! (Of course not as healthy tho 🙂 ) ha I’m definitely going to make these this week!

  8. those look AMAZING!!!

  9. Holy Cow! I am new to your blog and those look AMAZING!!! I must make them this weekend 🙂

  10. Those quesadillas look amazing! I love how nice and browned you got them…mine never get like that! And those healthy treats look delish… xxSAS

  11. Okay those quesadillas look amazing! YUM! Okay I just went back and read the post and I found the hidden clue…duh!! haha!

  12. […] For dessert, I whipped up a batch of Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Blondies! I had a serious craving for one after seeing them at Magnolia this afternoon. My recipe was inspired by Courtney’s Granola Blondies. […]

  13. […] I just picked up a brand new box of granola, which immediately made me think of my favorite Granola Blondies. […]

Leave a comment