Are You “Jellin”?

As much as I enjoy weekends full of barbecues, treats, and other fun eats, it definitely puts me a little on the sluggish side.  It’s amazing how much of a difference I feel when I don’t get my typical veggie/fruit/healthy protein intake. 

Knowing in advance that tonight’s dinner is going to be similar to this weekend’s eats (more on that tonight 😉 ) I wanted to get in lots of the good stuff at lunch!

I started things off with a delicious roasted veggie salad!

I topped some romaine lettuce with grape tomatoes, and a big serving of the roasted veggies that I cooked up yesterday.  LOVE having them all ready to go!

I also added in a raspberry flavored Chobani, which I must say is right up there at the top of my favorites list!  This flavor was totally YUMMY all by itself  (I usually like some “mix-ins” in my yogurt…aka, “yogurt messes”) 🙂

I rounded things out with a new flavor of my Livin’ Spoonful Crackers: Coconut Curry!

Ok, so I’m not gonna lie…I’m a little bit of a wimp when it comes to any sort of spicy food.  Yup, mild salsa can sometimes leave me pining for a a big glass of water.  So when I tried this flavor on its own, it definitely had my grabbing for my water bottle!  However, when I crushed them up and mixed them into my veggie salad, it was a whole other story!  That was delish! 😉

Ok, so has anyone seen the “blast from the past” trend that’s making its way back???

See by Chloe jelly sandal

Who remembers Jellies?!?! 😉

My gosh, how I loved my jellies back in elementary school.  I longed for them, just HAD to have them!  I can remember my favorite pair was dark blue with sparkles.  I wore them with everything – dresses, mesh shorts, jeans, pajamas, you name it!  Oh yes, I was rockin’ the style!  I guess as the years passed, I had just forgotten about the jelly…but now they’re back and they’re all over!

Tons of stores and designers are now jumping on the bandwagon, creating their own unique styles with a wide range of price tags…

Gap – $12.50

Even Louis Vuitton has joined the trend…coming in with a hefty $340 price tag!!  Can you imagine?!?!

As for me, I’m not sure I’ll be jumping back on the recreated “Jelly” bandwagon.  While I adored them when I was 10, I’d say my styles have changed a bit from then.

But what do YOU think about the jelly shoes? 

Are they a “Do” or a “DON’T”??? 🙂

11 Responses

  1. Jellies! I remember whenever I would get a new pair they would give me a blister in the exact same spot under my ankle bone!
    Probably a “don’t” for me currently….but you never know!

  2. oooh i loved those! but i agree with you- they’re better left in the past. 🙂

  3. ahhh i have to admit, i hate jellies. i never wore them but i think they look so cheap. maybe i need to give them a try though…i shouldn’t pass judgment.

  4. I’ve seen jellies making a comeback since last summer, but it seems like they’re even more popular this year. I personally LOVE jellies, and kind of want a new pair of them!

  5. I used to have a “jelly” jacket to match my jelly sandals – PINK !!!!!

  6. EWWWW I say no. They are ugly!!!! Just personal opinion.

  7. I LOVED jellies when I was a little girl, but I was like 3 or 4 years old and I would rock them with frilly socks!! But now, I am not sure I would spend money on jelly shoes!! 🙂

  8. I’m all about choosing comfort over style when it comes to footwear… since i do so much walking during the day. If they are super comfy, I will totally rock the new jellies. I read an article in the New York Times Magazine about Vibram Five Fingers shoes that simulate barefoot running and I can’t wait to try them out, regardless of how crazy they look 😉

  9. Oh I LOOOVED my jellies, I had a clear blue pair and then a hot pink pair… and I too rocked them with some frilly socks. Maybe I was 4 or 5? I’m not sure why we all loved them so much. They always smelled really plasticky and ALWAYS gave you blisters. Not to mention if you didn’t wear socks and your feet got a little sweaty they would always sort of stick to your feet! I remember one time my mom told me not to wear them when I was out playing with the neighborhood boys, and I totally climbed a tree with them on and had to have my friend’s dad help me down… try nursing a jelly blister on your way down a pine tree… easier said than done! Should have had my frilly socks on as a barrier! Does anyone remember when they brought back jellies in maybe ’97 or ’98? They were sandals and you could get them at Old Navy, and they even had little mini jelly sandal keychains?
    And P.S. Louis Vuitton can keep his $340 jellies… it’s probably only $3.40 worth of plastic anyway. Why pay all that money for jellies just because they have an LV on them?

  10. Oh my goodness- too funny- jellies are back?!? haha! Blast from the past for sure!

Leave a comment