New Accomplishment, New Gadgets, & A New Dinner

WOW! Well today was definitely an exciting day for Sweet Tooth, Sweet Life…

I was Freshly Pressed!

Just in case you’re wondering, “Courtney, what the heck are you talking about?” –

Each weekday, WordPress.com (which is where I host my blog) selects about ten new blog posts for the Freshly Pressed section of the WordPress.com homepage. These posts represent how WordPress can be used to entertain, enlighten, or inspire.

Pretty cool, right? Especially considering there’s well over 300,000 blogs on WordPress! 😯 Being “Freshly Pressed” has made my post on the Twinkie Diet rather interesting to read…I’ve had SO MANY great comments about it so far. Who would have thought it’d be such a hot topic! Have you weighed in yet?? 😉

Alright, let’s back it up here…

Breakfast

A couple lightly toasted pieces of my Farmer’s Market whole wheat bread,

IMG_6190

which I spread with some fabulous toppings: one half got a simple PB + banana treatment, but the OTHE got a little PB + a smear of pumpkin cream cheese + banana. It was phenomenal. This combo will be happening again. YUM! 😛

Also enjoyed was some wonderful Caramel Macchiato coffee…I’m only a few pots worth away from being OUT of this stuff. Then it’s on to the Christmas Blend!

IMG_6192

No photos ended up being taken of lunch today. It was a rather busy afternoon which consisted of about 10 minutes to shovel everything in. (Major bummer when that happens). But luckily, I was still able to taste at least a little of the delicious pumpkin oats that I packed up with me. Pumpkin oats are good at any time of day if you ask me. 😉

Workout

After work today, I headed home to test out the NEW TREADMILL! :mrgreen:

IMG_6195 

This thing is pretty bad-ass. 😉

 IMG_6196

For those of you who asked yesterday, Jay and I did a lot of researching before we finally decided on a winner. We bought the NordicTrack C 900 from Sears, which so far totally rocks.

IMG_6198

Some of my favorite features:

  • It has 20 built-in workout programs to choose from, (5 high intensity, 5 speed, 5 incline or 5 calorie-burn workouts)
  • 1-Touch Speed & Incline buttons (so no more wrestling with the up/down arrows!) 😀
  • It’s iFit Live compatible which seems REALLY awesome, but I have to look into it a little more…unfortunately, there’s an extra cost to it (I think around $200?) But hey, Christmas is right around the corner! 😉

My first encounter with this monster machine turned out to be fab-o: 4.2 miles in 43 minutes, with the last 10 minutes between a 4.5-3.5mph walking pace. WOOT WOOT!

IMG_6197

After finishing up my run, I headed upstairs to do a little yoga from Exercise on Demand. Today’s choice: ELLE Make Better Yoga. It was definitely a change of pace from the video I had been doing, but I actually really enjoyed it. I felt so long and lean after!

Dinner

My cravings were all over the place with dinner tonight, but I knew I was in need of some veggies and whole grains (I guess all that reading about Twinkies earlier did me in) 😉

I started by roasting up some zucchini & yellow squash…just a little spray of PAM, salt, pepper, and garlic powder. Super easy!

IMG_6203

Then I ended up making a “Tuna & Rice” salad of sorts, which really came together rather nicely.IMG_6202

I cooked up 1 cup of rice, mixed it with 1 can of tuna, and then just started adding whatever I could get my hands on: diced tomatoes, pepper, onion, sweet vidalia onion relish, about 1-2 tbsp sour cream, salt, chili powder, seasoned salt, garlic powder, and cumin.

IMG_6204

A little random I suppose, but I really liked it! Better yet, I don’t think I ate even half of what this made, so I have leftovers all set for tomorrow. LOVE that.

IMG_6201

About halfway through eating this, I decided that the salad would be delicious if I scooped it up with some tortilla chips…

IMG_6205

So I got them. And it was delicious. I definitely did a little damage to this bag. 😉

Now it’s time to go get comfy on the couch and watch a little One Tree Hill!

Question for the Evening:

What’s the last “throw everything together” meal you made that was a hit (or miss!)?

14 Responses

  1. Congrats on being “freshly pressed”! How awesome is that 🙂

  2. I love random meals like that. I threw together a chicken and dumplings type of meal last night- so comforting with this cold weather!

  3. The treadmill’s put together. Yay!!

    And Congrats on being freshly pressed.

  4. ah so cool the blog was freshly pressed! i didn’t even notice:)

  5. I must admit that I’m kind of jealous of your new treadmill- I wish my apartment was big enough for one (and I could afford one on my college budget)!

  6. Yay for the treadmill!!! Oh pumpkin cream cheese sounds wonderful 🙂

  7. I love your new treadmill, the screen looks like something on a spaceship hahaha.
    My last throw together meal was stirfried veggies, Risoni and Cheese, it actually turned out pretty nice in the end, it looked like a dogs breakfast though.

  8. Congrats on being “freshly pressed”. That’s awesome! And I’m glad your treadmill came together….looks like a nice one!

  9. Congrats! Thats big time!

    Hey—request. I just finally switched to imanokie.com and its not related to my old wordpress account. The link you have on your blogroll for me is the old link. Could you update it when you get a chance? thanks babe!

  10. congrats on being freshly pressed!!! you’re in the big leagues now 😉 love your blog!

    that coffee flavor sounds soooo delicious! do you drink it black?

  11. What an amazing treadmill! I would kill for that! I love random dinners, you have to go for what you are craving.

  12. Random meals,,, How delicious it is??

Leave a comment