Crab Quesadillas

Don’t you just love when you take a gamble with a few ingredients and it just works?

So do I! And that’s exactly what happened with tonight’s dinner. :mrgreen:

I was on my own for din since the hubby has a softball game, so I usually try to take these opportunities to enjoy something that he wouldn’t be so keen on. While perusing through my lazy susan, I found a lonely can of crabmeat that was just itching to be used.

So what did I make?….

Crab Quesadillas!

The anticipation of the first bite of these babies was almost unbearable. I was so excited to try them out, that I practically had to force myself to keep them on the griddle long enough to warm through thoroughly. What can I say – I get pretty psyched about my food!

Let me tell you – these quesadillas are definitely a keeper! Holy YUM were they delicious! The creamy, cheesy crab & veggie filled tortilla had my tastebuds dancing from beginning to end. I also think that the addition of my Pineapple Peach salsa totally made the entire dish come together. The subtle sweetness of the crab, paired with the sweetness of the salsa was just out of this world.

If you like crab meat, you have GOT to try this. PLUS, it’s totally budget friendly too! πŸ™‚

Crab Quesadillas

Serves 4

Ingredients:

-1- 8oz. can crab meat, drained

-2 oz. reduced-fat cream cheese, softened

-1 cup shredded cheese (*I used 1/2 c. reduced fat mozzarella & 1/2 c. reduced fat mexican 4 cheese blend because it’s all I had – I’d definitely do this combo again, but cheddar would also be a good choice)

-1/4 cup corn

-1/4 cup green pepper

-1/4 cup red onion

-1/4 cup cucumber

-1 tsp. dried cilantro

-4 whole wheat tortillas (*I used 100 Calorie La Tortilla Factory whole wheat tortillas)

-Salsa for topping (optional)

Directions:

  1. Combine all ingredients together in a medium bowl. Lay tortillas and spread one-fourth of the filling on half of each tortilla. Fold tortillas in half, gently pressing them together.
  2. Heat a large skillet over medium heat and spray with nonstick cooking spray. Place 2 quesadillas in the pan and cook, turning once, until golden brown on each side – about 3-4 minutes total. Spray pan again and repeat with remaining 2 quesadillas. Top with salsa, if desired. ENJOY! πŸ™‚

I enjoyed 1 quesadilla, along with some leftover pasta salad from yesterday.

Since I only had 2 quesadillas in the house, I made the other one and put it in the fridge for another time. The remaining filling is left in the bowl, yet to be determined on how it will be incorporated into a meal. Perhaps crab salad melts?? πŸ˜›

The rest of the evening will be spent catching up on some laundry, a little magazine reading, and some relaxation. πŸ™‚

Question for the Night:

What is your favorite quesadilla combination?

6 Responses

  1. YUM! That looks and sounds delicious! I am definitely going to try that because I actually have some crab in my pantry too! Perfect!

  2. I love black beans and avocado – so darn delish!

  3. I love quesadillas. Too many combos to love. Black beans, roasted red bell peppers, spinach, and goats cheese is awesome. I also like sweet potato, black beans, and spinach.

  4. I used to be pretty simple with the quesadillas- then I was introduced to the buffalo chicken quesadilla.

    Holy cow…

    Oh and avocado/guac is a requirement. Otherwise, I just get mad…

  5. Black beans, sweet potatoes, and goat cheese! Sounds kinda weird, but it is soooo good!!

  6. mmmmm I LOVE crab meat, although I’ve never had the canned kind, just the real crab- whenever we go up to Maryland, we always get steamed crabs with Old Bay!!!! Yum yum!
    I might just have to give these a try..I’ll try to fool Craig & not tell him what’s in them until he bites into them..but he is SO stinkin’ picky about his crab meat. He’ll just have to get over it because they look delicious πŸ˜€

Leave a comment