Baby It’s HOTT Outside!

Boy, is it a HOT one outside today! I’m so glad that Jay and I went and got our new floats to lounge around the pool in, since that’s pretty much what we did all day long — and it was exactly what the doctor ordered. Unfortunately, plans fell through with our friends, so Jay and I actually spent the day as a twosome. But we still managed to have a total blast. 😎

We made sure to come in occasionally to check on poor Cody, who really is not a fan of the heat…

You know the poor guy is pooped when he’s too lazy to even play with my hair ties that he tries so hard to scope out. (Seriously, does anyone else find that their cat(s) LOVE hair ties?!?)

Around 4:30ish, we both decided we were getting pretty hungry (I had eaten a BB & J on an Arnold’s sandwich thin a few hours earlier) so I decided to head in and get some dinner ready. Originally, Joe & Kate were going to be bringing over some leftover food to share, so since we were planning on that, we hadn’t taken anything else out to eat. Hmmm – what to make, what to make? One of the first things we both decided we were craving? Pasta salad! πŸ™‚

I bought a box of this Ronzoni Garden Delight pasta a few weeks back and had been waiting to give it a try. I hate making pasta salad without tri-colored noodles, so tonight was the perfect night to test it out.

I simply cooked up the pasta (about 1/2 a box), and tossed it with some grape tomatoes, cukes, carrots, red onion, broccoli, red pepper, & some reduced-fat feta cheese. Then, I added a 1/4 cup of Kraft Roasted Red Pepper Italian w/ Parmesan dressing and we were good to go.

While I prepped the pasta salad, Jay fired up the grill with some burgers and dogs. I had a fat free hot dog (not too shabby) on an Arnold’s sandwich thin “fill ’em”. I love these things, but they are not easy to photograph without holding them up! πŸ˜‰

I love me some ketchup & mustard!

I definitely went back for some seconds of the pasta salad – and we still have a bunch leftover. YES! πŸ˜€

Tonight’s dessert comes in the form of this delightful treat, which I got from one of my students on the last day of school. How delish does THIS bad boy look?!? πŸ˜‰

I’ve been saving it for…well, I really don’t know what…so Jay and I will be breaking into this baby while I’m watching The Bachelorette and he’s complaining about how stupid it is…yet he doesn’t leave the room…hmmmm? πŸ˜‰

Luckily, our window AC units are finally starting to cool the house down a bit – the thermostat says we’re down to a cool and crisp 85 degrees now. 😯 Boy I’ll tell ya, I sure to miss that central air conditioning from living back with my parents!

Question for the Night:

How hot did it get today where YOU live?!? Were you able to stay cool?

Here in Troy, NY, they’re saying we got up to about 93 degrees, which it H-O-T-T HOT for up here. YOWSAHS!

10 Responses

  1. Oh poor kitty – pups get super lazy during the summer too. It was actually pretty cool here for July in the south – I think the thermostat read 97 today. Not bad. I really don’t mind the heat too much so long as I don’t have to run in it. On the weekends I spend most of my time in the pool. Have a great evening!

  2. We left Troy and drove down to my parents house in Hudson! We got an hour of ac in the car on the way down and back plus central air/pool once we got there. But now we are back home and it’s still 95 outside and 88 inside. I think the poor dog might hyperventilate! :-/ lots of cold water!

  3. SAME comment from Craig about the Bachelorette- HAHA! I’m just looking forward to the Vienna/ Jake interview. Should be good..hopefully.
    I looked for those ‘fill ’ems’ at the store today & couldn’t find them. I was totally bummed 😦
    I’m in Orlando & it’s super hot all of the time- but I keep hearing about that NE heat index- too CRAZY! Glad you guys have a pool to cool off in πŸ™‚

  4. Tahoe was only about 50 degrees when we left today (in the AM)! Much warmer near SF πŸ˜‰

    I swear my cats look like your cats long lost brothers πŸ™‚ Mine play with hair ties, plastic rings from bottle caps, cotton balls, etc. So cute!

  5. My car read 101 in PA today!

  6. I am very lucky to live at home with my parents because as soon as it hits June 1st, my parents set the thermometer for 70 degrees and I dont think I am going to survive when I move out on my own and cant afford to keep my air conditioning so low.
    Do you have pool in your back yard or did you go to a pool??

  7. pasta salad looks amazing! We were about 95 but it wasn’t humid-head doesn’t kill me but the humidity makes me want to die

  8. It is winter in Mozambique, so probably about… 80 degrees during the day. And we are FREEZING. It is so funny, you can tell who all the South African tourists are (wearing tank tops and board shorts) and who the locals are (I am the one wearing jeans, a sweater, and a scarf, in 80 degrees). Something tells me moving back to the States in December wonΒ΄t exactly be a “warm” welcome.

Leave a comment