Celebrating in Lake George, Part 1

Thank you all for the kind “congratulations” comments yesterday! 🙂

Jay and I had a wonderful time up in Lake George. The weather was absolutely gorgeous, we ended up finding lots of fun places to go and, most importantly, yummy food to eat. 😉

We started our evening yesterday with some wine tasting at the Adirondack Winery & Tasting Room. 😀

As soon as we stepped inside, I knew I was going to like it – check out all the cute decor!

They even sell homemade wine ice cream – how sweet is that?

The winery offers tastings all day, everyday. For $5.00 a person (well, $4 for us, because you know I found a coupon for $1 off per person!) 😉 we were able to try 6 different wines of our choice, as well as their featured wine of the week which was a Muscat. It was tasty, but a little too sweet for my liking.

We both tried the same wines, which included a Chardonnay, Spring Delight (Liebfraumilch), Sauvignon Blanc, Pinot Grigio, Riesling, Pinot Noir, & Sangiovese.

Jay really enjoyed his Riesling…

And I was totally diggin’ the Chardonnay…

All of them were incredibly tasty, but we ended up leaving as the proud owners of some Chardonnay & Riesling. 😀 The Chardonnay actually received a very prestigious Silver Medal award at the 2009 World Value Wine Challenge:

“The judges described our Chardonnay as having a “Rich golden color with an orange amber cast; Aromas of pineapple, ripe kiwi, buttercream, and spun honey following a round, satiny entry to a fruity-yet-dry medium-to-full body with nice layers of citrus, praline, and spice.”

This wine also won a Bronze Medal at the 2009 Finger Lakes International Wine Competition. I can certainly see why – YUMM!

After wine tasting, it was time to find somewhere for dinner. The only thing we were really looking for was somewhere on the lake, and luckily, we found what we wanted – The Boardwalk Restaurant & Marina.

We enjoyed a nice pre-dinner drink & some live entertainment while taking in the beautiful views of the lake on their pier.

Finally it was time for some food! I found (another) coupon for a free appetizer (YAY!) so we started off with some fried calamari. Jay is actually the one that suggested the calamari which almost had me falling out of  my chair — he’s never one to suggest seafood, but I totally went with it before he could change his mind! 😉

For my entree, I decided on their veggie garden burger with sweet potato fries. It was good, not fabulous – but it did the trick! We were too busy enjoying each others’ company and the atmosphere anyways. 🙂

View from our table…

After dinner, we ended up walking around the village a little more before stopping for one more post-dinner drink. I was in the mood for something sweet and fruity – normally I try to stay away from fruity, frozen drink because I know they’re calorie bombs, but hey – I was celebrating! 😉

I ordered the “Lava Flow” which was pina colada + strawberry daiquiri combined with my favorite Malibu rum. I was in heaven, if you can’t already tell. 😉 It was the perfect way to end the evening!

I’ll be sure to post the rest of our mini trip a little later this evening!

Hope you’re all enjoying your holiday weekend. 😎

9 Responses

  1. Looks like u guys had a great time and you are an adorable couple.

  2. Oh I love going wine tasting. Cali has so many options but I’ve never seen wine ice cream. Did you try it?

    The last drink you had is also called a Miami Vice 😉

    • YES! I was actually first introduced to them on our honeymoon – I was obsessed! I had never heard of the other name from last night?

  3. Looks like so much fun! And you are a PRETTY PRETTY girl. So natural and classy looking :).

  4. I LOVE all of your pictures. Your outfit is GORGEOUS!! If you’re ever in Orlando WE need to go shopping 😀
    SO glad you enjoyed your trip!!

  5. Thanks so much for visiting our beautiful Lake Region and for patronizing our chamber member businesses. We appreciate the great photos and hope you come to visit again soon!

    I will be sharing your online entry with those businesses. I am sure they will be very thrilled.

    Please don’t hesitate to contact us at the chamber 518-668-5755 if we can be of any assist for future trips.
    Luisa Craige-Sherman
    Executive Director-Lk Geo Regional Chamber & CVB

  6. Courtney –
    We are so glad you enjoyed your experience at our winery and appreciate the great comments so much! Thanks for spreading the word!
    Sincerely,
    Sasha & Mike
    Adirondack Winery

Leave a comment