Banana Toffee Picnic Cupcakes

I’ve got a real treat for you guys this evening!

I’m actually headed out for Happy Hour with my friends Kate & Meg in a little while, and then we’re going over to the boys’ softball game tonight, so it might be a little bit later of an evening.

Since I’m still not sure what’s planned for dinner, I didn’t want to leave all my favorite readers hangin’, so I have a little recipe to share with you all!

Banana Toffee Picnic Cupcakes

These babies were probably one of the easiest but most flavorful cupcakes to make – they’re a MUST TRY.

I had some suuuuuper ripe bananas to use up, and I found this recipe while perusing the Betty Crocker website, so I figured I’d give it a shot!

The original recipe called for your standard water + vegetable oil + eggs, but I figured: why not make it a soda cake???

Headed into the oven…

YUM!! 😛

I was able to hold myself off from devouring them for all of about 10 minutes — I drizzled mine with a tiny bit of caramel syrup on top…

It literally melted in my mouth.  The cupcake was soooo moist, with just the perfect hint of banana, and the extra crunch and sweetness of the toffee bits on top.  All of that paired with the ooey, gooey caramel, and I was in love.  I’ll be interested to see how long these last in the house! 😉

Banana Toffee Picnic Cupcakes

(adapted from Betty Crocker’s Banana Toffee Picnic Cake recipe)

1 box yellow cake mix

1 cup mashed very ripe bananas (about 2 medium)

1 can diet Sierra Mist soda

1/2 tsp almond extract

1/2 cup toffee bits

Directions:

  1. Heat over to 350 degrees.  Line cupcake pan with liners, or spray with nonstick cooking spray.
  2. Beat cake mix, bananas, soda, and almond extract with electric mixer on low speed for 30 seconds. Beat on medium speed 2 minutes.  Fill cupcake liners 2/3 full with batter.  Sprinkle toffee bits evenly over each cupcake.
  3. Bake 18-20 minutes or until toothpick inserted in center comes out clean.
  4. If desired, drizzle with caramel syrup when serving. ENJOY! 🙂

19 Responses

  1. Ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh! If I could jump through the computer screen, I would!!!!!!!

  2. Oh hello – YUM. I LOVE Heath toffee bars. Funny story, one of my dog’s name happens to be Heath b/c the people who rescued him thought he looked like a Heath bar.

  3. I have heard about using soda in cakes but I just haven’t ever done it. But it looks so easy and so good. I might have to try it out this weekend for the 4th! Have a good night tonight pretty one! 🙂

    • Oh Kelly, it’s fabulous! Chocolate cake with flavored kinds of diet pepsi are my favorite! Cherry vanilla is definitely a good one! (Or I also recently did a yellow cake with orange soda which was just like a creamsicle) 😛

      • Awesome! Okay I definitely want to try this for the 4th this weekend. I am not a chocolate cake lover so tell me what you think the best combination would be that isn’t chocolate! Thanks!

      • Hmmm…ok, let’s see!
        If you’re going to make them for this weekend, what if you tried maybe some diet cherry 7-Up with a white or yellow cake mix? Then they’ll get a little pink (or you could add a little extra red food coloring) and top them with some fun festive frosting, either blue or white? 😛

      • GREAT idea…although I am totally laughing that we are talking about this considering my post this afternoon, huh? HAHA…everything in moderation right?

        But I like that idea…yellow cake with Cherry 7-UP! YUM!

      • LOL – I know, it totally made me giggle earlier!
        Hey, if there’s only 12oz. in the whole cake, and you make 24 cupcakes, that’s only 1/2 oz. per cupcake — you’re golden! 😉

  4. You have my address. I will expect them by Saturday. Thx 🙂

  5. Wow. These wouldn’t last long at my house. YUM!!!

  6. Those cupcakes look fantastic!!! I hope you are bringing some to the HLS 😀

  7. Ohh wow. I can’t believe how easy the recipe is and it looks fantastic!! Might make these for some friends this weekend! Thanks 🙂

  8. Mmm… these look FABULOUS.

    I have never made a soda cake… I think it’s about time I try. 🙂

  9. Ummm court these look amazing!!!

    i think cake mix is a gift from the Gods. when i move back to the states I am systematically buying every single one in the grocery store and making one of these fun recipes. 🙂

  10. […] what you need for the most delicious Banana Toffee Cupcakes ever!  1 box yellow cake mix 1 can diet Sprite 2 ripe bananas (about 1 cup mashed) 1 teaspoon […]

Leave a comment