Trifecta of Laziness

Today’s session at the gym was definitely a GOOD one.  I’m already feeling sore!!  I started with 25 minutes on the elliptical, followed by a killer BodyPump class, & an abs class.  I used to take this class all the time, because it’s only 15 minutes, and it’s right in the same studio, immediately after BodyPump.  I guess I’ve just been in too much of a rush to stay lately?!?  Well, my abs were screamin’ the whole 15 minutes…tomorrow ought to feel lovely! 😉

So after getting home from the gym I was definitely feeling the trifecta of laziness:

-tired

-sore

-starving…borderline famished!

Put these 3 things together and you have a girl that does NOT want to work hard for her dinner! 😉

We hadn’t planned anything because hubby was supposed to have another softball game which got canceled, so I didn’t really know where to start.  I rummaged through the freezer and found this box of frozen veggies that I must have picked up forever ago.  I’m a huge fan of dried cranberries, so I decided to make this dinner selection #1.

I wasn’t sure how these would turn out, but I actually REALLY enjoyed this combo!  The subtle sweetness of the cranberries mixed in with the carrots and cauliflower was definitely a winner.  Plus, the sauce they were in wasn’t too overpowering, which is always a plus.  I think I’d certainly try these again (as long as I have a coupon!) 😉

Well, pushing the buttons on the microwave  for the veggies was border-line on what I could handle, so dinner selection #2 remained super simple…a classic old-school PB & J! 😀

Skippy Natural Super Chunk PB + Polaner All Fruit Strawberry Preserves on 2 slices of light wheat bread.

Who doesn’t love PB & J?!? (ACTUALLY, the hubby does not love PB & J!  He’s strictly a PB guy) 😉

Yup, I was that hungry! 😯 And I figured since I was goin’ “old-school”, I’d keep the theme going with the classic, 4-triangle cut sandwich.  I used to love when my mom cut my sandwiches in 4’s…but triangles were always better than squares. 🙂

I had to restrain myself from going back for another PB&J, but I’ll let this settle, and see how I’m feeling in a little while.  I’m pretty positive I will be consuming some more food this evening, and there’s a good chance it’s going to include some more PB! 😀

I’m off to relax on the couch with hubby and watch the “Losing it with Jillian” episode that I DVR’d last night. (I caught half an episode on Sunday and REALLY liked it!)

Question for ya!…

What’s your favorite “old-school” food, or something that really brings you back to your childhood?

15 Responses

  1. Woohoo on the workouts!! Maybe you should take a small snack along for right after a class. I started doing that to stave off the “I’m gonna hurt someone” hunger. I’ve never seen those frozen “dinners???” Love the idea of the cranberry though. YUM

  2. Let’s see, old school food…….I’d have to say that I LOVED my mom’s rice/noodle pilaf. I used to request that on my birthday for my “birthday dinner.” She would make it with the juices from the chicken and it was so yummy! She would never make it now because it’s not so healthy and she’s WAY into very healthy food. (Well, maybe she would make it if I requested it!)
    And by the way, I don’t like peanut butter and jelly either.
    :0)

  3. My favorite old school food (and favorite food in general) is grilled cheese :o) But I think you could have guessed that one :op Also, whenever I make it I ALWAYS cut it into 4 triangles. It makes it feel like it lasts longer when it’s 4 pieces instead of 2 :op

  4. Probably grilled cheese and tomato soup..with goldfish crumbled in the soup. 🙂 yummm

  5. Hahaha I have definitely experienced that trifecta of laziness. Sometimes I end up napping when I reach it and the naps end up wayyyy too long.

    My fav old school food? Hmm… Probably a sandwich. I used to eat sandwiches everyday for lunch when I was growing up. It is definitely a comfort food for me.

  6. wonderful blog! I love it! Made sure to bookmark it!!

    childhood food?? Turkey Sandwiches with Capri Sun 🙂 oh the good ole days

  7. I am totally with you on the PB&J thing. I love PB and strawberry jelly. I am not much of a grape jelly fan.

  8. I love those veggies too- I always keep Green Giant steamers on hand….just in case & they are SO easy to make- love that factor 😀
    I also love how you cut your sandwich- I normally just cut it in half (like 2 big triangles but now I’m going to have to start using the ‘Courtney method.’) 🙂

  9. SPAGHETTI-O’S!!!!!!!!!!!
    You still cut your sangwiches into 4 pieces? That would bring me back to my childhood too…especially if you cut the crust off

  10. Grilled cheese! 🙂

    I’m not a jelly person either…love a good pb sandwich!

Leave a comment