Smoothie On My Radar…

Aaaaand the winner is…..

YES!  We our finally proud owners of a blender again!!  After going back and forth between a few different options, we decided to go with the Oster 16-Speed Blender.  I was a little leery, only because our last blender was an Oster, and well, we all know how that turned out…but I’m keeping my fingers crossed on this one!

We also picked up a few other items that I’ve been in the market to purchase:

New measuring cups, measuring spoons, & an ice cream scoop!  AND, we didn’t have to pay a PENNY for any of it, because we used our registry rewards gift card that we got from Macy’s!  Gotta love that. :mrgreen:

Even more exciting than that, (I’m such a dork…really)  I was so excited to see that these measuring cups included 2/3 & 3/4 cups!  I’ve NEVER had these…I almost feel like I need to make sure my next recipe includes these measurements. 😉

Next on the agenda was some FOOD.  We debated on waiting, since it was an odd time to eat, (around 3:30ish), but we were both hungry so we made, what I call, a “linner” date (lunch + dinner). 🙂

We decided on a local cafe/bakery, Bountiful Bread.

Bountiful initially opened just baking bread, but as business continued to grow, so did their menu, and they started to include soups, sandwiches, salads, & desserts.  The inside has a super cozy feel, and the aroma as soon as you walk in the door screams FRESH BAKED.

Dessert Heaven!!! We didn’t get any today, but we both said we’ll definitely be making a trip back to sample some of these goods. 😉


So you can only imagine my excitement when I saw a shelf full of THIS  upon walking in!….

How did they know I was looking to buy some new Saratoga Peanut Butter Co. PB?!?  Unfortunately, to my utter disappointment, they were out of Blizzard Butter, so it looks like I’m still on hold. 😦

After browsing the menu for at least 5 minutes, (and numerous eye rolls from the hubby), I finally decided on my “linner” choice – 1/2 Cup of Soup + 1/2 Sandwich

They were featuring 3 soups today, and I chose the Chicken Pasta, which was a delicious blend of chicken, noodles, carrots, celery, and an awesome dill-flavored chicken broth.  Usually, your typical chicken noodle soup bores me, but this stuff was fanTAStic!

For my sandwich, I got the Smoked Turkey, which was smoked turkey (duh) brie, sliced green apples, and spicy honey mustard on farm bread.  Ummm yeah, need I say more?  AMAZING!! 😀

After “linner”, it was finally time to do some grocery shopping.  It was SO NICE to actually have a partner to shop with today!  Usually I take care of the grocery shopping solo, but today was a special treat. 🙂

Speaking of treats…

Jay mentioned earlier in the week that he and a few of his buddies from work stumbled across a new place that makes homemade ice cream that’s only about 5 minutes away from our house.  Homemade ice cream?  Ok, is there any question that I’m NOT going to want to go?!? 😉

I honestly was so excited about getting and eating my ice cream, that I completely forgot to take a photo until wayyyy after I got it.  But I knew I couldn’t leave you guys hangin’, so here’s a peek.

Just imagine this cone about 3 times bigger…it was HUGE!  After more ridiculously long decision-making on my part, I got 1 scoop of chocolate chip cookie dough + 1 scoop of Heath Bar crunch.  I’m pretty sure I ate my body weight in ice cream after finishing this baby off.  But I still finished every last bite…ice cream cannot be wasted. Ever. 🙂

After getting home, it was time to put away the groceries, do a little cleanup, and prep some food for the week.  Cody always LOVES when it’s time to put away the groceries…that means it’s PLAY time…

Jay and I are spending the rest of the evening on the couch, with our ice cream bellies, watching a little Man vs. Food – I love this show!  Who am I kidding, I love pretty much EVERY show on the Travel Channel or the Food Network!

Question for the night:

What’s your favorite Food Network show??

I’m a big fan of Unwrapped, Diners Drive-Ins & Dives, & Giada at Home. 🙂

12 Responses

  1. congrats on the blender. i think i need a vita mix for my next one 😉 lol. we’ll see about that…in my dreams!

    i love unwrapped and DDD too. i could/ do watch marathons of those all the time.

  2. Barefoot Contessa!

  3. YAY for your new blender & I really like the 2/3 & 3/4 cup measurements too- I have never seen those. So cool! Now I want some 😀
    That bakery/ cafe looks really cute- & delicious!

  4. Yea! Congrats on the blender! Ours bit the bun a little while ago and I am waiting for my vita mix 🙂 Let me know how the oster is!

    Your lunch looks very tasty….and you can never go wrong with a little sunday ice cream 🙂

    XXOO

  5. You are too funny with the measuring cups. We too got those on our wedding registry from Macy’s and every time I use one of the oddball ones (2/3), I feel an odd sense of accomplishment 😉

    Lovely wedding ring set!!!

  6. Iron Chef 🙂

  7. I LOVE Giada. I can’t wait to buy some of her new Target stuff!

  8. Wow, that all looks amazing, but I really want one of those cupcakes!!! Holy frosting. And dont worry, nobody minds pictures of already-licked ice cream cones 🙂 everyone has been there… how can you wait to take a picture first?!?!

  9. I have the same blender and measuring cups! The blender is going on 3 years and still producing great smoothies! Be careful with the measuring cups. The numbers have all rubbed off on mine. Obviously they still work because you can see the difference in the sizes it’s just frustrating if you’re in a hurry.

Leave a comment