Throw In A Little Variety

Ok, show of hands…who loves being woken up in the middle of the night by their beloved pet?

Anyone?

Anyone?

No, I didn’t think so…me either!!!  I love my dearest Cody to death, but last night, our pal would not stop clawing at our bedroom door!  We try to keep him out of the bedroom, just so his fur doesn’t get all over the place and cause my asthma to act up.  But every once in a while, he will sit on the other side of that door and claw at the rug until someone comes out.  Yes, he’s awesome.

On the positive side of things, he decided to start up again around 5:15, which gave me reason to catapult out of bed after him and then go ahead with my planned morning workout!  This morning I decided to switch things up a bit, starting with my 30 minute Turbocharge workout, followed by 30 minutes of Pilates.  I knew I’d have to work quick this morning to squeeze in both sessions, so I made sure to set everything out last night.

Dark, dreary basement!

This morning’s combo was fantastic, because it gave me a mix of cardio, strength training, AND stretching.  But let me tell you, attempting to do Pilates when Cody is around is NOT an easy task…

Exhibit A:

Exhibit B:

Exhibit C:

He’s such a ham! :mrgreen:

By the time I was showered and ready for breakfast, my normal cravings were nowhere to be found??  Usually, I’m craving something sweet like oatmeal, cereal, or PB+banana.  But today, savory was calling my name, so I went with it!

I scrambled up 3 egg whites, mixed with some fresh basil leaves, tomato, and yellow bell pepper.  I figured this would be a good opporunity to work on beefin’ up my veggies for today. 😉  On the side, I had 2 of my Livin’ Spoonful crackers with a slice of melted Sargento reduced-fat provolone cheese.  These crackers were fabulous with the melted cheese on top!

And since you know me, you know I couldn’t go the whole meal without something sweet, so I added some fresh Farmers Market strawberries to round out the meal.

This was one scrumptious breakfast!! 😀

Here’s a couple new questions from reader Lindsay:

Q: What meal woud you choose to eat for every dinner for the rest of you life? Breakfast? Lunch?

A: BREAKFAST, hands down! 😛

Q: What is the BEST gift you have ever received?

A: This is a tough one.  My immediate reaction would be to say when my parents surprised me on Christmas morning with a brand new car in my senior year of high school!  That definitely topped the charts! 🙂 

But I’ve also received so many other “gifts” which, while not exactly material, still mean so much more.  For example, the gift of maturity, forgiveness, & time, which brought my now husband (then boyfriend) back together after a year apart.  Without those three things, I don’t know where I’d be today.

What a great question!  So I’ll ask YOU this morning:

What is the best gift YOU have ever received?

14 Responses

  1. I would eat breakfast every meal if I could. There’s so much you could do with it. And who doesn’t love pancakes?

    I sympathize with getting woken up by the furry ones. When I doggy-sat for two weeks, they’d let me know when it was time to get up by doing laps around the bed until I would give them some attention. They also let me know whenever they heard something outside at 2 in the morning… almost every night. I’m kind of ok with not being a pet owner…

  2. Yeah. That’s annoying. We keep Alfie (dog) in a crate all night, and some nights he just scratches his bed to get under neath to the plastic. It wakes up Scott, but I always ‘pretend’ so sleep through it because I can get to sleep SO fast.. lololol he gets SO angry at the dog in the middle of the night, I almost giggle.

    I think I could definitely eat supper for every meal. But then wait. That means I’d have to eat pork chops or something for breakfast. ew. Maybe I’d have to change that to lunch every day.

    Oh! I actually tried out the Laura Mercier starter kit today since my drugstore foundation was all used up as of yesterday. Not sure what I think of it yet – obviously I like it much better than my other drugstore brand, but I hate that it tells me I should only use a pea sized amount. I want two peas! lol

    • Haha, I definitely use about 2 peas worth! 😉
      And I also found that I like the way it goes on MUCH better by using my fingers, rather than the sponge they give in the kit. The sponge absorbs too much of the liquid, so if you haven’t already tried it, use your fingers or a brush!

  3. my garmin 405cx 🙂

    i LOVE bfast too. i could eat it all day, everyday.

  4. He really is a ham, lol. I feel you though, whenever I do push ups, crunches, etc. I get a Pug in my face!

    Best gift is tough! I think I’d have to say my dogs, they are such a gift!!!!!

  5. I would definitely eat breakfast for every meal! Love all breakfast foods…all of them!!! The best gift I ever got was my engagement ring! 🙂

  6. I have two orange kitties myself and they routinely keep me up at night. Why? Because the both like to sleep on *my* pillow. Yep, it’s like having two furball earmuffs. So I’m often suffocated or listening to the sound of purring or having my hair ‘styled’ by their paws. Gotta love our animals!

  7. Awesome workout room you got going on!! Love it. Especially how you have all of the weights- they were always a pain for me to get- & they were super expensive..that’s why I just bit the bullet & joined a gym. But looks like you have some great stuff!! 🙂

  8. As cheesy as it sounds – forgiveness. All of us make mistakes – but thankfully the ones we love always seems to forgive us.

    But I can always be materialistic (haha) – I love love love my Yurman bracelets from Big Guy (I wear them daily).

  9. Haha I totally understand what it is like to workout with pets around. When I do yoga my two little yorkies like to lay in the mat or give me tons of kisses when I go into downward dog. Not the bext workout, but I feel the love.

  10. Best gift? Probably my parents paying for my college. The gift that will keep on giving 🙂

Leave a comment