Easy Ways to Spruce Up Your Summer Wardrobe, Day 4

Day 4 – Recycle Those Old Jeans!

Let’s face it, we’ve all got at least one pair of jeans sitting in our closet that we won’t wear for some reason or another…“They just don’t look right…”, “They’re a MESS at the bottom…”, “Too many holes…”

Well, don’t keep letting them sit there and collect dust…break out the scissors and make something new!

Cutoff shorts are super trendy this season, so why not take advantage of this ZERO cost way to add another piece to your summer wardrobe!

I decided to start with an old pair that have been lying around in the closer for quite a while…

All you need is a ball point pen, a ruler, and some scissors.  Make sure to measure them on your body, as well as off, because you want to make sure they’re an appropriate length.

I decided to try cutting a little lower than my mark lines, just in case my measurements were a little off.   

Remember: You can always go back and cut more, but you can’t get back what you took off!

I put them back on and decided that for now, I’m going to keep them where they are!

After cutting them, you can throw them in the wash to get a nice fray at the bottoms if you’d like.  OR, try cuffing them, which is what I did, and you’ve got yourself some NEW shorts! 🙂

So I started thinking more about the topic of shorts as I was prepping this post, and I thought I would share a few more helpful hints for pulling off one of the summer seasons’ most popular trends.  It’s not always as easy as you think!

DO’S & DON’TS OF SHORTS

DO try out the denim cutoffs…they’re so “old-school classic” and look awesome with just about anything.

DO invest in crisp, tailored summer white shorts.  You can take these shorts and pair them with anything from a simple tank or an old t-shirt, and you’ll still look great!

DO balance out a flowy top with straight-leg shorts.  Thigh-high shorts (so you can see them under your top) leave things fitted on the bottom, which help keep a flowy top from looking too sloppy.

DON’T let anyone be able to see the pockets hanging out the bottom of your shorts.  That’s a RED FLAG that those puppies are too short.  Think of pockets as panty lines…they should stay invisable at all times. 😉

DON’T be afraid to have fun with color!  Make sure you have your basics first (white, tan, denim), then see what else you can bring into play in the wardrobe.  If you’re going to invest, make sure they’re a pair that you’ll get your money’s worth out of.

DO pay attention to your shape and what looks best on YOU.  You might have a friend that looks smashing in a pair of bermudas, but not so much on you.  If you’re going for high-waisted shorts, keep them short (not mid-length).  Proceed with caution on floaty shorts; the less structured the cut, the more your legs are going to flaunt.  Balloon shorts can also be tough; shorts that slightly taper out at the hem are friendlier to all figures.

Here’s a couple of my favorites you can check out:

White Shorts

Banana Republic Petite Roll-Up Short – $39.50

The Limited Boyfriend Jean Short – $44.50

Express Cotton Sateen Military Short – $39.50

Denim Shorts

Forever 21 Distressed Cutoff Shorts – $17.80

So now go check your closets and get cutting! 😀

Do you think you’ll give this trend a try??

2 Responses

  1. I love me some white shorts. So crisp and clean looking!

    and heck yeah–Ive got some jeans that just arent so in style at the bottom–might as well give me a cut-although, I’m just NOT handy with scissors. It might be a “mom help me” kind of project.

    • Oh, you’ll SO be able to do it! I was a little nervous about it myself, but just get yourself a pair of sharp scissors and a ruler and you’ll be good to go! Let me know if you decide to try it! 🙂

Leave a comment