Mmmm…Margarita Cake!

I skipped my normal BodyAttack class at the gym tonight so I could come home to start getting some things ready for a little Cinco de Mayo celebration that Jay and I are having tomorrow!  First on the agenda…Margarita Cake! 😛

Here’s the all-stars of this recipe!

Before making the cake, you have to crush up some pretzels and mix them up with some sugar and melted butter.  Ohhh myyy… 😉  Then press them into the bottom of a 9×13 pan.

Then it’s time to mix up the cake!  Check out the fresh lime zest! 🙂

Pour it right on top of the candied pretzels, and pop it in the oven.

After it’s cooled, frost it with a little whipped topping & some pretty limes, and you’ve got yourself a Margarita Cake!

Margarita Cake (inspired by this Betty Crocker recipe)

1 ½ cups coarsely crushed pretzels

½ cup sugar

1/3 cup butter or margarine, melted

1 box white cake mix

1 ¼ cups bottled nonalcoholic margarita mix

1/3 cup applesauce

1 tablespoon grated lime peel (about 1 lime)

3 egg whites

1 container (8 oz) frozen whipped topping, thawed

Additional grated lime peel, if desired

Directions:

  1. Heat oven to 350°F (or 325°F for dark or nonstick pan). Grease bottom only of 13×9-inch pan with shortening and lightly flour (or spray bottom with baking spray with flour).
  2. In medium bowl, mix pretzels, sugar and butter. Sprinkle evenly on bottom of pan; press gently.In large bowl, beat cake mix, margarita mix, applesauce, 1 tablespoon lime peel and the egg whites with electric mixer on low speed 30 seconds. Beat on medium speed 2 minutes, scraping bowl occasionally. Pour batter over pretzel mixture.
  3. Bake 35 to 40 minutes or until light golden brown and top springs back when touched lightly in center. Cool completely, about 2 hours. Frost with whipped topping; sprinkle with additional lime peel. Store covered in refrigerator.

I can’t WAIT to dig into this tomorrow! 😛

For dinner tonight, Jay said he felt like PIZZA again, soooo…on the grill it went!  To see more of the process of how this is done, check out this post!

In true Horan fashion, “His & Hers” pizzas were formed. 🙂

Jay went with a BBQ Chicken pizza, which had garlic, red onions, chicken, bbq sauce, mozzarella & cheddar cheeses.

I decided to go with a veggie pizza of garlic, fresh & diced tomatoes, red & green bell pepper, red onion, mozzarella cheese, all sprinkled with some dried basil & oregano.  Both pizzas got the “garlic” treatment of fresh minced garlic, a drizzling of garlic oil brushed on, as well as some garlic powder on the crust.  Umm…does anyone have a mint? 😉

I had 2 pieces of my pizza, along with a bite of the hubby’s…it was SO GOOD! 😛

As soon as we sat down for dinner tonight, our power went out! GRRRR >:-( Luckily after about an hour it came back on, so it gave me a little time to some more reading of my book.  I’ve already gotten through Part 1, and came across some very interesting facts; some of which I can relate to my own eating habits!  Nonetheless, I’m very intrigued by this book so far!

I hope you guys are enjoying the first 2 days of my Summer Wardrobe tips!  They’ll be back again tomorrow afternoon! 😀  This evening, I’m enjoying a small serving of white chocolate sugar free jello pudding in order to keep my sweet tooth in check after making that cake and not being able to sample any! 😛

Are you celebrating Cinco de Mayo??? 😀

2 Responses

  1. ok- do you guys want to adopt me? Seriously!!!! yum , yum, yum!!!! Keep the wardrobe tips coming too! Fun to read

Leave a comment