Cheesy Tomato Pesto Toast

This afternoon, one of my students had a birthday!  So in true, celebratory fashion, she brought in a snack to share with the rest of the class.  And do you know what she brought in?  MIXED FRUIT!  I was SO impressed by this, it had me thinking about it all morning.  Growing up, I remember having all my friends’ birthday parties at school and you knew you were getting something GOOD – and by “good”, I mean loaded with sugar! 😛 Cookies, cupcakes, ice cream, you name it!  It was always a treat to celebrate a birthday!  But mixed fruit?  You NEVER saw that!  So hey, maybe there is hope for our youth!  You gotta reach ’em when they’re young! 🙂

Dinner tonight was quick and casual, since Jay is off bowling again tonight, and I was headed to a BodyPump class.  I wanted something that would fuel me up, but not leave me stuffed.  I’ve been craving the pesto that I bought ever since Saturday, and still hadn’t had any!  Until tonight that is 😉

First, I started off with a big slice of my multi-grain bread (this loaf is never-ending!) and topped it with a smear of Laughing Cow light Swiss cheese and some pesto!

Then, I topped each slice with a big hunk of tomato…

Followed with a drizzle of balsamic vinegar!

Then I took some part-skim mozzarella and sprinkled a teeny bit on top…Mmmmm!

All dressed up and ready to go, these beauties popped right under the broiler for about 3-4 minutes, until just a little golden.  Aaaand, VOILA! 😀

I’m totally gonna “toot my own horn” here, but this stuff almost tasted restaurant quality!  The flavors of the pesto and spreadable Swiss really came through nicely.  I’m definitely making this again…SOON! 😀  Along with my Cheesy, Tomato Pesto Toast (since I have nothing else snazzy to name it!) I had a side salad of romaine, shredded carrot, and red & green bell peppers, drizzled with a little more balsamic vinegar.

The salad = totally boring…but the toast TOTALLY made up for it!! 😀

So after dinner, I headed to BodyPump.  LOVED tonight’s class, because the instructor switched up some of the tracks with some older ones.  It’s always nice to keep things changing…it keeps me on my toes! 😉  Just in case you were interested, here’s my setup of weights & equipment that I use for each class.

There’s ONE last Creamsicle Soda Cupcake left, and I think I hear it calling my name!! 😛

**I added some new photos today to my “Wedding” tab, so make sure to check ’em out!  I hope you’re enjoying them!** 😀

2 Responses

  1. Isn’t pesto amazing?! It’s so perfect for summer.

    Oh and I love Body Pump, it kicks my butt every single time!

Leave a comment