Maniac in the Kitchen!

So as soon as I got home from work today, I got to work in the kitchen because I knew I had a lot planned that I wanted to accomplish.  I got home around 4:30, and am just sitting down now for my first time (minus a dinner break & a break from some visitors!).  So who were those visitors you ask???  Mom & Dad again!  They came to give me a new “toy”…. 😉

We go good together, right?!?! 😀

Hahaha, I WISH this was my toy!  JUST KIDDING GUYS! 😉  My parents just bought this over the weekend and were so psyched to come and show me after they picked it up this afternoon.  It’s a 1998 Chevy Corvette, and it only has about 39,000 miles on it!  They’ve been cruising around all day, like the young “hip” parents that they are! 😉

Here’s the REAL owner!  He is SO excited…he’s wanted one of these for longer than I’ve been around!  And over 26 years is quite a wait!

They came, visited, and then they were off…BYE GUYS! 🙂

And I was back to the kitchen.  Tonight I made 2 DINNERS – one for tonight, and one for tomorrow.  Tomorrow’s dinner is soup, which ALWAYS tastes better the next day, so I’m gonna let it sit overnight and reheat the good stuff tomorrow after work.  Quick, easy, & delicious…just how I like it!

On the menu for tonight: Creamy Chicken Enchiladas!! 😛

Here’s my portion, that I served alongside a little side salad (hey, a few extra veggies are always a good thing!)  I looked through a couple different recipes before finally tweaking a few to come up with my own.  Here’s my recipe:

Creamy Chicken Enchiladas

Serves 2-3

-1 skinless boneless chicken breast, cooked and cubed

-1/2 can 98% fat free Campbell’s cream of chicken soup

-1/2 cup fat free sour cream

-1/3 cup chopped red bell pepper

-3/4 cup cheddar cheese, divided (*this is what I had on hand, Colby or Montery Jack would also be good I’m sure)

-1 tsp. cilantro

-6 tortillas (*I used La Tortilla Factory, which I think are AWESOME because they’re super high in fiber and not loaded with calories like a typical wrap or tortilla  is)

-1/2 cup salsa

Directions:

1.  Preheat oven to 350.  Mix chicken, soup, 1/4 cup sour cream, 1/2 cup cheese, and cilantro.

2.  Spoon about 1/4 cup of the chicken mixture down the center of each warmed tortilla*; roll up. Place, seam sides down, in greased baking dish.  Top with the salsa and remaining cheese.

3.  Bake 25 minutes.  Top with extra sour cream & cilantro, if desired.

*To warm tortillas, stack & wrap in foil.  Place in heated 350 oven for about 10 mins, or until soft.

These enchiladas came out REALLY tasty!

Just check out that creamy, oozy center!  Mmmm Mmmm 😛

After breaking for dinner, I decided to try a recipe that my friend Melanie had recommended to me at work.  We realized that we both have the same cookbook, and she was RAVING about one of the recipes in there for “Grab ‘n Go Breakfast Cookies”.  Cookies for breakfast?  I’M IN!!! 😀  The recipe came from the cookbook, Hungry Girl: 200 Recipes Under 200 Calories.  I’m pretty sure I can’t share the exact recipe, for copyright purposes, but maybe if you check out their website, you might be able to find something!

I doubled the batch because she said they’re THAT good, and decided to make 1/2 the batch the full size that the recipe recommends, and the other 1/2 into “mini” cookies.  The batter was super easy to mix up.

And here’s the finished product!

Ohh, you know I took one right out of the oven! 😉

They turned out really yummy!  The texture was a little bit chewy, and the chunks of raisins and cranberries added a good amount of sweetness.  I’m not sure if I cooked them long enough thought, because the middle of the one I ate was still a little gooey in places?  But either way, it still tasted good! 🙂

Hopefully the hubby will be home soon…the poor guy!  He had to leave the house at 5:30 this morning to drive out to work in Syracuse, and he’s not expecting to get home until about 9:30 tonight!  So until then, I’ll be relaxing with my book for the night! 🙂

5 Responses

  1. I’m going to try the Enchiladas for my crew here. They look great and low fat. I love your parents new car too 🙂

  2. Thanks Jeanine! It will be much easier to make the recipe for more than 2 people, since I had to waste 1/2 a can of the cream of chicken soup! Let me know how they come out! 🙂

  3. […] Maniac in the Kitchen! […]

  4. […] eat half of it before it was finished.  When I opened the fridge, I saw one of our leftover enchiladas from earlier in the week, so I grabbed that and ended up eating about 1/3 of it so fast, it […]

Leave a comment